Facebook Places and Dislike

August 20, 2010

Facebook is a great tool for keeping in touch with your friends and family. But like anything popular, it can be misused and attacked. If you are like most Facebook users, you wish there was a way to dislike something on Facebook. You can like something, so why can’t you dislike something?

Now there is a new scam that takes advantage of this. So if you see anything about a dislike feature on Facebook, ignore it. It’s a scam! 

In other news, Facebook now lets you share you whereabouts with your friends by letting you “Check in” to a location through Facebook Places. If you’re Like me, you may think, “I would never use that feature so I don’t need to worry about it.” But hold on there. Did you know that your friends can “Check you in” to places? It’s true. If one of your friends checked into a place, they could specify who else is there and they could list you. That is, unless you change some settings on Facebook.

So here is how to prevent others from sharing your location on Facebook.
First, login to your Facebook account and click on Account and then privacy settings. Now click on “Customize Settings”

In the first section which is called “Things I Share”, the last items are “Places I check in” and “Include me in ‘People Here Now’ after I check in”. For “Places I check in”, change it to “Only Me”. For the other option, click to remove the checkmark from the box next to Enable.

Now, lastly, go down to the section called “Things others share” and disable “Friends can check me in to Places”.

That’s it!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.